All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 22 Jan 2010, 09:54 

I am a volunteer coach for a 6th grade team and I have a couple of boys that I have problems teaching/coaching. They don't listen and then they execute the drills incorrectly or they decide to change up the drill and do what they want. How do I work with these kids to help them understand that these drills will only benefit them? Also, when I put them into the game they do not execute our plays? Any assistance you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Ben

PostPosted: 22 Jan 2010, 10:06 

It is unfornuate anytime you have players/kids become problems and even distractions. As a coach I would suggest continuing to talk to each player and relay the message of how important the drills are and even the reasons why you use the drills. As a coach I will often stop my 5 on 5 scrimmaging during practice and remind the players this is why we did this drill today.
However if the players continue to act out they will become a distraction to you and the rest of the team. As John Wooden always said, the best motivator is the bench. I would sit these players and even consider setting up consequences for them during practice when they act out. The consequences could be sprints during or after practice, sit-ups, or even consider sending them to the locker room. I would also encourage you to speak to their parent/guardian. Often the guardian can give you support if the proper lines of communications have been developed.
Best of luck, I have dealt with the same problems and it is not easy.

PostPosted: 22 Jan 2010, 10:17 

Tough problem Ben!

I think its time for you to have a player / parents meeting and discuss team rules and how a player earns playing time. (along with any other items that are pertinent to your team.