All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 25 Oct 2010, 08:33 

I have a draft coming up, & I really don't know how this really works. My main question is which position is more important for me to draft first?

PostPosted: 25 Oct 2010, 09:28 

As for me, I think it all starts with a good point guard, then a shooter and next a rebounder. The rest you fit in around those three positions. JMO A good shut down defender is a must also.

PostPosted: 25 Oct 2010, 16:48 

We had the draft this weekend. I had the first pick over all. With that pick I selected the best point guard. The rest of my picks are either average or beginner players. Being that my best player would be a point guard what would be the best offense can i teach? I'm more of defensive minded coach, on my other teams that I had coached I always had atleast 5 to 6 players with good knowledge of the game. This is my first time coaching this age group. I have always had coached the older groups.

PostPosted: 25 Oct 2010, 18:58 

Use the KISS method.... use something very simple for them...... 4 or 5 out motion..... pass and v cut to the basket... everyone rotates. You have a lot of teaching to do and I think this gives you the best opportunity to teach every player the skills necessary to play the game.

PostPosted: 02 Nov 2010, 15:13 

I finally got to meet my whole team & have our first practice. These are the players that I have on my team.

-We have a good player that will be our center. He knows pretty well what he has to do to get his own shots, drive to the basket, rebound & block shots.
-Another good player we have is our point guard. For an 11 year old he has tremendous ball handling skills & a decent mid range jumper.
-We also have 3 pretty good shooters. 2 of those I will need to rotate between shooting guard & small forward.