All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 20 Jan 2014, 15:35 

Hello Everyone,

First, I want to say THANK YOU for building such a great resource for coaches. I am very grateful.

I am a first-time coach for my son's 6th-7th grade school team. I played Jr High and High School basketball. Aside from my willingness to do it, I am not qualified to coach. Regardless, I have leapt into it, and really do enjoy the coaches' life. Staying up all night thinking about tomorrow's plan is fun!

My problem is the size of the team. We only have 7 players, and that's only if none of them quit (our best player may quit because I explained to him that while we will incorporate his abilities, he's going to have to paly where the team most needs him. I'm not having a problem standing up when it comes time to make the hard coaching call. the team's interests override player interests.

My main concern is game fatigue. We have 20 minute halves, and I'm fairly certain we don't have enough of a bench to substitute effectively when players need breathers.

I'm looking for advice on this subject. Frankly, I remember playing a lot, but don't remember being tired. Can kids hack playing a full game? How can I most effectively substitute players when my bench is only two players?

PostPosted: 20 Jan 2014, 16:11 

denglish2 wrote:
My problem is the size of the team. We only have 7 players, and that's only if none of them quit (our best player may quit because I explained to him that while we will incorporate his abilities, he's going to have to paly where the team most needs him. I'm not having a problem standing up when it comes time to make the hard coaching call. the team's interests override player interests.