All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 19 Mar 2014, 19:38 

Hi guys,

Firstly, background: I am an Aussie Coach - U14 boys team, but have virtually no Basketball Background as such. Our team has been undefeated all season, and is made up of a number of 12 YO lads who have strong ball skills. While I like the team to perform well, I have a strong ethical streak and do not wish to win games unfairly (problem is I dont know what I dont know :)).

Last night we played the season semi-final, winner straight to GF and from previous games, I know the opposition has one dominant player in their team. As we play and concentrate on a tight Man-On-Man defense, I specifically allocated one lad who is tall, but very mobile to their dominant player, but after the first minute of the game, the opposition coach is yelling that my player was illegal, and calling to the referees pointing in their direction. I think my player was fair, he was in close to the opponent, but was grabbing or holding them, and the referees didnt see any issues with the play at all, however this could have been experience also. What I was wondering is, what are the rules around what players can and cant do for man-on-man, and is there clips either here or on youtube that you can recommend that teaches this skill correctly?

Cheers David.

PostPosted: 20 Mar 2014, 07:43 

It s eems like you aren't doing anything wrong.... the refs weren't calling any fouls and I take it you meant that they weren't holding or grabbing them either. You picked your best defender to stop him, good game plan... why not!

They talk about NO hand checking - pushing or shoving. There will be some contact, just part of the game.

Was their something in particular that the other coach was complaining about?

PostPosted: 20 Mar 2014, 07:47 

If you look on the left side under DEFENSE... and then Man to Man there are several TIPS to playing good m2m D.... here is one-