All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2015, 11:56 

Getting ready to start coaching a group of seven-year-olds that I have been coaching since they were five years old.all the kids on the team are able to dribble pass shoot ect. This year I want to start working with them on spacing and I feel like 5 out motion offense is the best way for them to understand. The problem that I see with the 5 out is I'm not gonna have any perimeter shooters most of the kids can't shoot past the foul line.I want to start off really simple and only give two rules, first drive to the basket or pass back out. I have even thought about a four out one in and have whoever has the ball to drive to the basket look for post or pass back out if shot is not available. I don't want to spend a huge amount of my practice working on offense when there so much more fundamental stuff that I could be working on. On the other hand I also put some type of organization in the offense, spacing and not have kids running everywhere.is this even something to consider

PostPosted: 08 Oct 2015, 16:06 

I love the 5 out motion offense because it is flexible with regards to what rules you put in place. The bigger case for this offense (especially at the younger levels) is that you're teaching good solid fundamentals on offense and you get more ball touches. Spacing, movement, cutting and passing are all great fundamentals. Honestly, if you just put enough space on the floor, you're almost guaranteed a dribble drive to the basket at some point. However, that kind of defeats the purpose of teaching the other fundamentals on offense.