All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 27 May 2015, 18:40 

To Anyone that can help.
Coaches: I have coached high school to college to pro for over 35 years but this Sunday, I have several 3, 4, 5 year olds and Im scared to death. I have created a dummied down program for the basics of passing dribbling and shooting however, its not enough. What I need from someone is games, games, games..basketball related games so the kids don't get bored. The baskets cannot be lowered and I am in China so I need something to compensate for that problem. Now, I have contributed to these forums hundreds of times, giving advice and helping out young coaches...Its payback time. Coach Mac p.s. its Thursday May 28th so that gives me four days to come up with something.

PostPosted: 28 May 2015, 06:41 
Site Admin

Here are a few ideas. I have never worked with three year olds before. I'm sure about four year olds either. But here's what I have done with kindergarten kids in a clinic setting...

First I'll point out that we didn't shoot at all. Just fundamental movement skills, dribbling, passing, catching, and maybe some pivoting or jump stops if they are capable of that.

1) Start with them on the sideline, arms length away so you have space. When I'm by myself I have a routine I use to get them locked in. I have no idea if it would work with 3 year olds.

Even better. Have small cones on the sideline. One player standing next to small cone. Put bigger cones where you want them to run to. Then you can instruct, run to the big cone and then go back to your small cone.

2) Jog forward to a line (or a big cone) and back.
3) Skip to the line and back.
4) Try go jog forward and then jog backwards.
5) Skip fowards and backwards. Not sure if 3 year olds can do this but you can try.
6) Balance on one leg for a count to 10.
7) Bear crawl to the line and then bear crawl backards.