All times are UTC - 6 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
PostPosted: 20 Apr 2011, 08:26 

Posts: 6
Case scenario: offensive player receives pass, he then attempts to pass to another player, but the player doesn't get the ball, the \"passer\" chases down the ball, never "picks" it up, but starts dribbling. Is there a violation here?... This has perplexed some where i play please give us a verdict, backed up by the official rule.


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 20 Apr 2011, 10:18 
User avatar

Posts: 3139
Does the ball touch the person he is passing it to or another player?


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 25 Apr 2011, 07:49 

Posts: 6
coach , the ball wasn't touched by anyone, the passer received the ball, (remained stationery) passed it away, no one touched it, he chased it down, dribbling (never picking up the ball) gaining control of the ball


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 26 Apr 2011, 20:34 
User avatar

Posts: 181
Location: Miami, Fl.
If the ball has been dribbled before the attempted pass and it is dribbled again after the attempted pass, it will be a double dribble.

If it has not been dribbled or it is picked on the recovery, it would be up to the interpretation of the officials.

The rules say you can always recover a muff (fumble, mishandled ball). If the ball had been dribbled already, it is obviously a double dribble. In fact, on recovery, you will not be permitted to pivot, either. If it had not been previously dribbled, the official must use his judgment as to whether the ball was muffed or it has been passed. If he rules that it has been passed and several steps have been taken to recover and dribble, it probably would be called a travel

_________________
Don Kelbick
http://www.DonKelbickBasketball.com
http://www.BreakthroughBasketball.com


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 27 Apr 2011, 22:58 

Posts: 6
that was funny....i can't understand why it is so hard to answer, the individual never dribbled, he commenced dribbling to gain control of the ball ...so where would the violation be ? there is no "up to the officials interpretation, traveling is traveling and not traveling is not traveling


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Apr 2011, 06:54 
User avatar

Posts: 181
Location: Miami, Fl.
Obviously it is hard to answer or you wouldn't have asked the question and so many would not be "perplexed.

That is why there are officials. Everything is up to the interpretation of the official. did he pass it or or fumble it? It all depends on how the official sees the initial action. If he passed it and ran to recover it, there would be a violation and it would be a travel. Unless the official felt he intentionally put the ball on the floor with 2 hands, then it would be a double dribble. Unless the official feels it was a fumble instead of a pass, then there would be no violation.

You tell me. A player is standing on the foul line in the back court. He passes up the floor, it touches no one. He runs up the floor and recovers it on the dribble at the front court foul line, takes one dribble and scores on a layup. Is that a violation?

_________________
Don Kelbick
http://www.DonKelbickBasketball.com
http://www.BreakthroughBasketball.com


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Apr 2011, 07:08 
User avatar

Posts: 3139
Let me throw some more confusion into this (not having anything to do with this situation)

Have you ever heard of a "Blarge" or seen one called?


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Apr 2011, 07:21 
User avatar

Posts: 181
Location: Miami, Fl.
Do you mean a "Block/Charge" when one official calls it one way and another calls it another way? Or when the official can't make up his mind?

For purposes other that a shot clock reset, does the ball have to hit the rim for it to be determined a shot?

_________________
Don Kelbick
http://www.DonKelbickBasketball.com
http://www.BreakthroughBasketball.com


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 May 2011, 10:53 

Posts: 6
to my understanding no matter how u put the ball down or how from u the ball is put down , having not dribbled or moved either foot, (remaining stationery) it would be considered a first dribble . Regardless if it was passed or not


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 03 May 2011, 12:07 
User avatar

Posts: 3139
Correct Don..... 40+ years of coaching before I saw that call made... because one ref made a call that wasn't his.... took em awhile to sort it out.

You ever see that call made in a game?


 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron