All times are UTC - 6 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
PostPosted: 27 Feb 2015, 23:44 

Posts: 5
My team mate shoots the ball, hits the rim and starts going out of bound, I go after the ball and throw it back on court, but, it goes to my opponent. I am still out of bounce, can I get involved in the play and try to knock the ball out of his hands or do I need to establish two feet back on court to be involved in the game/play.


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Feb 2015, 16:26 

Posts: 158
If you touch the ball while you are still standing out of bounce, touching the ball will make the ball out of bounds and give your opponent possession of the ball to in-bounds from the spot you were standing when you touched it.

If you establish both feet back in bounds and deflect, touch, or steal the ball, then you the game will continue on.


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Feb 2015, 16:27 

Posts: 892
Short answer is no, you do not have to re-establish both feet back in bounds to be considered "in bounds". You would have to get one foot back in bounds and when your second foot leaves the ground from out of bounds, you'd be considered back in bounds. However, you can't have one foot in bounds and any other part of your body touching out of bounds.

Make sense?

_________________
CRob


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Feb 2015, 16:29 

Posts: 892
Ahh, didn't see Brian's post. I could be wrong, but I thought if A1's momentum carries him OOB and he saves the ball without touching out of bounds, all is good. Then for him to re-enter play legally, all he needed is one foot touching in and the other one off the ground from OOB..

_________________
CRob


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Feb 2015, 16:31 

Posts: 158
Coach Rob,

In a technical sense, you are probably correct.

Many of the referee's I've seen call games will probably not take notice of that second foot being off the ground unless it's established with the other foot back in bounds. I always try to give as little room for doubt to refs as possible, though I don't argue with what you've said here. It is correct.

Brian Sass


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Feb 2015, 16:35 

Posts: 892
Brian -

And? It happens so quick that making that call as a ref is pretty difficult to do, seeing the other foot lifted.

_________________
CRob


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Feb 2015, 16:37 

Posts: 158
I agree.


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 28 Feb 2015, 19:34 

Posts: 5
thank you for your answer.


 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron