All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 08 Sep 2012, 07:07 

Hey guys. Something like this has probably been asked already, but I thought I'll just go ahead and ask...

I'm a 7ft guy, 19 years old and I live in the UK at the moment. I'm currently studying at a University here getting my Bachelor's degree and basically I had an idea to move to the States once I finish this BA degree and join some college to continue with the education and get a Masters degree. Now that is not the only reason why I'm considering it, another reason and probably the main reason is that I'd be able to tryout for the college basketball team. After doing some research I found UCF, which offers the exact kind of Masters degree course that I was looking for AND they have a basketball team that plays in the Div. 1 NCAA.

What I'm worried about is the fact that even though I'm a 7footer, I don't really have that much experience in playing time, I've been playing basketball mostly as a hobby for many many years, but the actual "professional" (if you could call it that) training I had was back when I was still in Secondary school and played for the team. Since then it was just pick-up games, individual practice outdoors etc. But my knowledge of the game/center position is okay, as I said it's been my hobby for many years, I'm constantly out practising on my own, I have a decent jump shot and I watch a lot of NBA/ Europe games.