All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 13 May 2011, 21:49 

What is the appropiate mentality for a scorer when preparing for a game and when he first receives the ball?

PostPosted: 14 May 2011, 07:29 

Jordan,

As a coach I never wanted to put any pressure on my shooters.... they knew that I had a great deal of confidence in them (or they wouldn't be shooting as much as I allowed them to shoot)

As a player, I think you need to go into games thinking that you will never miss a shot (even though you will) Have confidence in your abilities as a player and shooter.... don't worry if you miss.... even M J missed a "few" :-)

Try to catch the ball shot ready... IF you are in a position to shoot, meaning a shot where you can be successful, in your range and a spot on the floor where you are comfortable.... then shoot the ball.... some say that you should think Pass first... thinking about the triple threat... that was not my philosophy.... IF you're a shooter, you should be thinking shot first.... JMO This worked for my better shooters, others might have a different opinion.

I hope this answers your question, if not, get back to us. Is this for you or????

PostPosted: 14 May 2011, 08:07 

This is for me, I always thought that the great scorers had a different mentality than other players, allowing them to dominate.

PostPosted: 14 May 2011, 08:25 

I understand.... think about all the great shooters/scorers..... they think they are unstoppable.... Jordon, Kobe, D Rose, Larry Bird, Magic - just to mention a few.

They are the best ... they work the hardest, always working on their shooting and an intense desire to win, they hated losing.