All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 18 Feb 2011, 05:11 

What up everyone, hope everyone is doing good...

I've been playing ball for 15 years, but I've never had a jumper. I've bought projects such as:
1. The Bandit
2. Better Shooting
3. Jumpusa Naypalm
4. Nike Shooting Ball

I've done all these in bits and pieces and as a result my shot has never consistent and instead is forced. I've tried to shoot the ball like the pros; I've tried to mimic Nash, Allen, and Bird. I feel like all of it has messed any shot I ever had

I'm ready to transform my shot and become a shooter.

Any tips on where to start for my transformation? Thanks

PostPosted: 18 Feb 2011, 08:30 

Here are a few things I have found -

http://www.hoopsking.com/pejush.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c6gsevzCAnA&feature=related

But looking at what you have already done, maybe you should invest in a personal trainer IF that is possible.

PostPosted: 18 Feb 2011, 09:35 
Site Admin

Like Ken suggests, the best thing you can do is get a shooting coach / basketball trainer.

Once you develop your shot, don't change it! Everything needs to be consistent.

Each and every component must be consistent and done the same way...

1. Your feet must be lined up and in the same position every time. This will help the alignment of your shot.

2. Your shot pocket and grip on the ball should be the same every time. Generally speaking, the ball should be held between the upper chest and the top of the nose.
Think about it: If you vary the position of the ball in your shot pocket, you’ll throw off the timing and control of your shot as well as its power and distance.

3. Your shot motion and arm position should be the same every time.

4. Your knee bend and jump should be consistent. The height of your jump should be nearly the same every time. (No, it’s usually not best to jump as high as you can!)