All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 08 Oct 2009, 12:17 

Wow, this really is my favorite site. I have learned so much. I guess I'm sort of addicted:) Anyway I have a question. I know with certainty that it is very important to be in good condition to prevent injury. My question is this: How much conditioning should be included in practice if we only have practice one day a week. As the season gets closer we will be able so get gym time for two days but I want to make sure I'm not pushing to hard on our one day! By the way I coach a 5th grade girls travel team and assist with a 3rd grade girls team. Thanks again for all the excellent advice.

PostPosted: 09 Oct 2009, 09:02 

I'm glad that you are enjoying the site and getting some valuable information.
As a young coach I thought that we had to run a lot during practice... as I got older I realized that IF I had a good practice plan I could condition them while running drills and as we scrimmaged. I felt that our practice time was to valuable to just run without learning a skill.
With you only having 1 or 2 practices, I wouldn't waste one minute on just running. Keep them moving all the time... keep your drills short - maybe 5 minutes... do a couple hard ones and then do a shooting drill of some kind... including free throws. Make sure that you include some full court drills too. Good luck
We would appreciate a reply to our suggestions, thanks.
Coach Sar

PostPosted: 19 Nov 2009, 10:25 

Coach Sar is right. Most drills involve running so your conditioning is automatically built in. Practice time is too valuable to spend on just running laps or lines. As long as the kids are moving, they're getting conditioning. Granted, you do need a few warm-ups, but instead of just running, have them run to a line then add a drill in (defensive slide, jump stop, or pivot). Do the same with dribbling, combine drills because you have limited practice time.

PostPosted: 05 Feb 2012, 00:27