All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 03 Dec 2009, 09:28 

I am a coach of a junior under 14 boys district team. My son plays in this team and has gained a bad habit all of a sudden. He used to be a nice straight shooter but now has created a two hand shooting style. He does make shots from the 45 but when it comes to free throws i am afraid we are in trouble. His last game he went to the line 12 times and made only 2 shots. He drives to bucket well and draws many fouls but can not convert. He is 10 years old and takes on the older kids well. I am trying several things one of them lying down and back spin back to himself. If you have any suggestions i would really appreciate it thanks.
Regards Michael.

PostPosted: 03 Dec 2009, 10:00 

It's amazing how 'bad habits' can all of sudden show up! Developmentally, your son is still progressing and in that stage, it is easy to see things 'change' - - and not always for the better. Shooting is a fickle, fickle skill - - - not because of the physical motion, but the mental approach. A lot of times, placing 2 hands on the ball to shoot becomes a 'placement' shooting-style, instead of a flow. For example, the baseball pitcher that tries to place the ball in the right spot will typically hit the backstop....basketball shooting can be similar. From a physical standpoint (and mental), I think your son needs reps....5 feet from the basket reps. His first 5 minutes in the gym should be 1 handed form shooting - assuming he is developed enough to shoot it 1 handed without comprising form. Have him go 'around the world' and try not to hit rim - really focusing on form and the rim.

It sounds like your on the right track - don't let him overthink it, just have fun and shoot the darn thing!Sometimes our head can get in the way of our body.....

Best of luck and let us know how he is progressing!
In hoops,

PostPosted: 03 Dec 2009, 10:36 
Site Admin