All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 21 Feb 2011, 09:44 

I am in my first year coaching. I coach a small high school girls varsitybasketball team. I have 6 girls. Therefore making it VERY difficult on me to have effective practices. To me, chairs only go so far when I am trying to get the girls to go overtheir offense. I just feel very discouraged coming into the end of the season. Any pointers at all will help. Maybe sample practice plans, and even a few pointers in the coachingdepartment. :)

PostPosted: 21 Feb 2011, 10:56 
Site Admin

It's hard to know where to even start. So many pointers and ideas for practice plans to even start thinking about listing. So I'll just throw out a few ideas regarding the 6 player issue...

- see if you can recruit a few players. find something to make the program unique and exciting. we are talking marketing here. you need to learn how to market the program, generate some interest, and get a couple players on board.

- can you move up some younger players?

- try scrimmaging boys and any other team as often as you can scrounge them up. have controlled half court scrimmages and shell drills when you have other kids to practice against.

- 3 on 3 no pass drills and various rules are great for developing offense, skills, and good habits.

- lots of 5 on 0 drills but I'm sure you already do that.

- recruit some more coaches so you can have 4 on 4 and 5 on 5 controlled scrimmages. not sure if it's a rule violation but maybe graduated players will come back and add some bodies for you to practice against.

Keep teaching, motivating, and providing leadership.
http://www.breakthroughbasketball.com/mental/motivate-players.html