All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 22 Nov 2009, 20:30 

I am a 16 year old coach from Australia, and I have been coaching for a year and a half now. I coach 12 - 13 year old boys. I don\'t earn a wage out of coaching, I do it primarily to pass on my knowledge of the game to younger kids. We normally have 8 players, but we have recently been restricted to 7, due to our only big man being banned from basketball by his parents, due to his bad marks in school (He will be able to play again after Christmas). Other then him, we have a few guards, and a few forwards. Although they lack height, they are a fast team. I get them to use this to their advantage by running fast breaks straight away after a score, or after a turnover. I also get 3 of the kids on the court to press up and force a turnover. The uptempo game is really fun to watch, other coaches have commented me on it. Somehow, the opposition usually plays our style of game, which is to our advantage, because we are probably the fastest side in the competition. The boys average about 34 points a game (20 minute halves) and other teams average about 25 points a game against us. They are undefeated so far this season (3 wins), but they miss a lot more shots than they make. They are also strong on the offensive rebounds which gives us some second chance points. They love to drive it in, and often score about 7-10 points from foul shots. But I want them to be averaging around 40ppg and keeping up the same defensive intensity. We only have 1 training session a week, which lasts 1 hour. That is a big disadvantage to us. But I have recently been focusing on "Pick and Roll" and "Backdoor cuts
Question 1: Do you think I have made the right decision by getting my boys to run an uptempo style of game?
Question 2: Do you know of an offense that incorporates Pick and Rolls, and backdoor cuts in it?(So when we do not have the fast break opportunity, we can use this)