All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 09 Oct 2017, 08:40 

Greetings - I'm an assistant Coach for a Varsity Girls Basketball team and one challenge I'm having is trying to approach the area of Team Building and cohesiveness within the group. Does anyone have suggestions to help build a strong knit team. I'm also trying to come up with some unique/fun NON-basketball activities to help build a bond. Any thoughts?

PostPosted: 09 Oct 2017, 13:07 

Funny, we were just talking about this the other day. Some type of volunteer work is a great way to give back to the community and help the team bond. It's not going to be as fun as going to a local college basketball game together, but that's another way to bond.

PostPosted: 09 Oct 2017, 13:17 

Thanks Rob - that one came to mind as well on our end. Get the kids out in the community as well as provides a service. Has anyone tried the 1v1 teammate interview and if so, what were the results? For those not familiar, it's where each player would be allowed to interview the other in a closed door environment using pre-screened & fun or interesting questions. I like the idea as it would allow kids to maybe learn some things about each other they may not necessarily take the time to.

PostPosted: 09 Oct 2017, 16:34 

Funny you should mention the 1 v 1 interviews.

https://www.breakthroughbasketball.com/coaching/two-easy-teambuilding-activities-to-develop-team-chemistry.html

PostPosted: 09 Oct 2017, 19:57 

Yes - exactly!

PostPosted: 10 Oct 2017, 05:31 
Site Admin

Just some random ideas that might be helpful...

- Emphasize teamwork. Make "teamwork" the number one thing you emphasize. I find girls tend to value the relationship aspects of basketball more than being the best player or scoring the most points (like many boys). If you make everything you do about teamwork, lots of lessons can be learned and you'd hope they would become tight knit group.