Traveling Violation
Page 2 of 3

Author:  kelbickd [ 03 May 2011, 13:19 ]
Post subject:  Re: Traveling Violation

Do you mean the "block/charge"? I used to see it all the time because officials would never defer or talk to one another. Now, not so much

In regard to the dribble, that is not true. It very much matters how you put the ball down.

You didn't answer my other question.

For purposes other that a shot clock reset, does the ball have to hit the rim for it to be determined a shot?

Author:  Coach Sar [ 03 May 2011, 14:10 ]
Post subject:  Re: Traveling Violation

I didn't know that question was for me.... I'm not sure where you are going with this... someone can shoot the ball and miss everything... and retrieve his own miss as long as it was really a shot.

I'm not into those kind of stats... but to me, you take a shot and miss everthing (air ball) its still a shot. JMO

Author:  kelbickd [ 03 May 2011, 14:22 ]
Post subject:  Re: Traveling Violation

You are correct.

The question is really for anyone. What spurred the question was spurred by the comment
will_winuhgin wrote:
that was funny....i can't understand why it is so hard to answer, the individual never dribbled, he commenced dribbling to gain control of the ball where would the violation be ? there is no "up to the officials interpretation, traveling is traveling and not traveling is not traveling

When it comes to rules, it is ALWAYS up to the officials interpretation. In pickup ball, there is the "can't catch your own pass" call when a shot is an air ball and the shooter grabs the rebound. That is not true. Hitting the rim has nothing to do with whether it is a shot or not. If the official interprets it is a legit try for a goal (shot) the shooter can rebound, dribble, pass, shoot, etc. just as he could for any other rebound. If the official interprets it is not a legit try for a goal, when the "shooter" recovers the ball, it will be a travel.

Here is another one for you. Can an offensive player be in the lane for more than 3 seconds?

Author:  Coach Sar [ 03 May 2011, 14:54 ]
Post subject:  Re: Traveling Violation

That all depends on the ref :-)

If the ball is loose there is no 3 second count... the count stops once a shot is taken also. I think thats one rule that is called loosely, we always felt that IF a ref was making a lot of 3 second calls - he was weak. There is a lot more important things going on than a 3 second violation. If the ball is in the back court... no 3 second count ( I think )
I never complained unless the guy was really camped in there. I know as a coach we should know ALL the rules but I would be the first to tell you that I don't know them all.. there were a couple of years the coaching staffs had to take a test. Guess the refs were sick of us ragging them.

Author:  kelbickd [ 03 May 2011, 16:05 ]
Post subject:  Re: Traveling Violation

You are mostly right. With a loose ball, there is no possession so there is no count. The count only occurs when there is possession, the ball is in play and the ball is in the front court. So, that also means there is no count on an out of bounds play.

There is also no count on a try for a goal. As long as the official interprets that the player is in one continuous attempt for a goal, that includes pivots, pump fakes, head fakes, etc., he can stay in there for 3 days. However, once that continuous try ends, for example, the player passes to someone else, it is a violation immediately.

I got a whole bunch of these where there is no interpretation needed.

Author:  Coach Sar [ 03 May 2011, 20:37 ]
Post subject:  Re: Traveling Violation

Don't make me think so much.... :-) Its a tough game to officiate... its fast and getting more physical every year... not to mention all the rules.

Author:  will_winuhgin [ 04 May 2011, 06:53 ]
Post subject:  Re: Traveling Violation

as much as i want to disagree with you on this one don i am going to have to concede that you are correct, but it just doesn't seem fair that it isn't cut and dry and it allows for " fidangling" the game because of the "interpretation". Well gee thanks Don you may have lost me a bet . Hope your satisfied. : )

Author:  Coach Sar [ 04 May 2011, 07:01 ]
Post subject:  Re: Traveling Violation

Serves ya right Will...... don't forget - the ref holds the whistle and rarely do you see a call overturned by another official.....

I can remember one as a varsity coach that got overturned and one as a soph coach that even though he knew he was wrong, he answer to me was that he didn't mean to do it.... DUH!!!

Author:  kelbickd [ 04 May 2011, 07:01 ]
Post subject:  Re: Traveling Violation

Unfortunately, basketball, like life, is not black and white. When people are involved, there are differing perceptions which leads to different interpretations of the same situation (see CNN and Fox News). I am not sure that it is not better that way.

Maybe someday we can meet and I'll take you to lunch to make up for your lost bet.

Author:  will_winuhgin [ 29 May 2011, 22:10 ]
Post subject:  Re: Traveling Violation

.......thanks for the lunch proposal...but what was bet wouldn't cover both of us eating i will reference YOU when there is a problem today we played (pick up) rebound comes off, rebounder 1 who is in the front has hand on the ball rebounder 2 tries for the rebound and hits rebounder 1's hand forcing the ball out of bounds, no foul is called but the argument is who is it out of bounds on ?

Page 2 of 3 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group