All times are UTC - 6 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
PostPosted: 22 Mar 2016, 20:15 

Posts: 2
I coach 14-17's in organized rec league. Team A brings ball over half court and in offense takes a long 3 pt shot. Ball is tipped at foul line or above on rebound of miss, goes over half court line where Team A regains possession. Is this a "back court violation" shot was taken, ball was tipped and then recovered. AT NO TIME was ball recovered and carried over line. Thanks


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 30 Mar 2016, 11:17 

Posts: 899
No. Since Team A did not have team control after the shot, plus the ball was tipped. Backcourt (over and back) violations hinge on team control of the ball.

_________________
CRob


 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 30 Mar 2016, 12:01 

Posts: 2
Coach Rob wrote:
No. Since Team A did not have team control after the shot, plus the ball was tipped. Backcourt (over and back) violations hinge on team control of the ball.

Thank you, similar to what someone here at home said, referenced Rule 4 Section 9 article 3 - team control continues UNTIL the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal, followed with article 5 - team control does not exist during the touching of a rebound, but is established when a player secures control. Again thanks to all for your help


 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: