All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 29 Dec 2009, 09:33 

Hello! I would like to put on a basketball camp for the girls at our elementary school. We are a small school and our elementary kids play in a co-ed league that lasts for several weeks with about 8 games played. I would really like to focus on the girls and help them out with some basic skills and give them another opportunity for playing ball besides the league they are in. I have some basketball background (youngest of eight kids with seven of us playing ball all through high school) and understand the game. I haven't done much coaching, but would like to do so. I was wondering if you have some tips for me of how I should organize the camp... I'm thinking of holding it for 1-2 hours each day after school for a week or so. I can see that the girls need a lot of help with all of the basics...shooting, passing, dribbling, etc. I'm just not sure how to best use the time.

Any suggestions?
Thank you!
Nichole

PostPosted: 30 Dec 2009, 09:35 

Nicole,

I've organized many summer clinics similar to what you are doing.
I did them for 3 summers with my sons agegroup and have done it for my daughter for the past 4 summers, 4th thru 8th grade. They were very popular and successful. Biggest tip is to have an overall objective and be organized. I would run these clinics 2 days a week, 2 hours each, for the months of July and August.

First steps:

Generate interest- ask parents, kids. See who would be interested, how many kids? What agegroup?

Seek parent volunteers to help you plan, organize, and help you with coaching

Meet with your parent helpers to establish overall goals, gym time, dates and times for camp, coaching coverage, player safety concerns, practice plans, cost, equipment needed

Once you secure gym time and dates, generate a flyer to promote the camp. Make it look professional...this is YOU!!! Circulate the flyer via email and hard copies around town.