All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 11 Sep 2018, 09:46 

I coach a small middle school girls team and will have tryouts at the end of Oct. The previous coach was a really nice guy that was all about fun. I was hired to help develop a program at the school. This is my first year coaching this particular team but I have coached AAU for years. I have a girl who was on the team last year but never played. She has a bad attitude and work ethic. Every time we have to do something hard, she's injured.

I sent out a list of expectations for tryouts, skills I am looking for, intangibles like attitude, hustle etc. If tryouts were tomorrow I would cut her. She and her mom will be "shocked" by this.

So as a coach who is trying to be transparent: do I give her mom a head's up and then have a meeting with them both so that the player understands the situation and why I feel this way? Do I just talk to the parent about it? Or do I just let her continue and cut her if necessary?

She will not add a lot of value to the team either way.

PostPosted: 13 Sep 2018, 09:00 

Is the girl skilled? Where would her basketball skills rank her among the other players trying out?

For me to cut a player at the middle school level solely because of their attitude and work ethic they would have to be at the lower end of the skills rankings as well. If the girl can play or shows flashes of potential or seems to have some athleticism I'm going to tend to want to keep her along. What better way to help her work on changing her attitude and work ethic than having direct access to her all season!?