All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 18 Aug 2014, 10:32 

My daughter is in 5th grade. I'll have her travel team this season and next season before she moves on to play 7th grade for the school. At that point, my coaching "career" will be finished. I've coached my son for the past 6 years and coached 3 years in a Jr. NBA league before he was born. One thing I know for certain is that I'm not ready for my "career" to be finished. I love coaching and teaching this game to players.

I just don't know how/where I can go from here. I don't have a teaching license, I'm an accountant. So getting a gig at a school is tough because most schools in my state look to higher teachers as coaches. I've thought about looking for opportunities to be a volunteer on any local staff, but my busy season of work falls right in the middle of basketball season too (January-April).

Does anybody have any sage advice for me? I have given thought to talking to the travel sports director in our community about the possibility of remaining in the program to coach wherever there was a need. My wife was kind of skeptical about how that would be viewed since I would no longer have kids in the program. I just feel like I still have a lot to offer the youth sports world and I'm not ready to be done in two years. I was on the path to playing college hoops but missed my senior year of high school due to a knee injury and the college interest dropped off the radar. I was receiving D3 interest as a Jr. though. Since then I stayed on with the high school team and helped out at practice and developed a true love of coaching.

On a side note, I was thinking of contacting the coach of a local D2 women's college team (my alma mater) to ask if there are opportunities for me to come watch a practice sometime, for my own development purposes as a coach. I've read where this happens, but I'm wondering how it's typically viewed by the college coach.