All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 01 Apr 2014, 14:53 

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone is splitting up their practice focus. Meaning, having one practice defense fundamentals focused and the other offense fundamentals focused. I have two 1.5 hour per week. This is my first time coaching these guys, with a mixture of grade levels . We are playing in an AAU league that has teams who have been together for a long time. We've been together for 3 weeks. We got spanked in our first game. I mean spanked.

My focus for the season:
1)Tough Pack Line Defense
2) Rebounding
3) Running our motion offense

I want us to compete every game and improve fundamentally every practice.

Thanks for your thoughts in advance.
Coach V

PostPosted: 02 Apr 2014, 06:04 
Site Admin

In most cases we mix things up and try to cover each key area in practice. This helps avoid boredom and their attention spans are short. So if you stick on something too long, you lose their attention.

However I do occasionally have practice where we emphasize just a couple things... maybe we'll have a day where we focus on shooting form or defense or offense. Sometimes you just need more time to teach a certain subject so we might allocate an entire practice to that subject. It can be helpful at times. However I have found you almost always have at least one person missing that missed all the important info and lessons. So I try not to do that too often.

And I've had practice where I was intending to focus on something like team defense, but I realize that two players are missing that need it more than anyone... so I abort that plan and do something completely different.

I always have to remind myself... coaching youth basketball is a marathon, not a sprint. You try to make just a little bit of progress each day and continue building. It's a long term process.

PostPosted: 02 Apr 2014, 06:23