All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 29 Nov 2012, 13:00 

Hi - I am a new coach to beginner players (3rd/4th grade boys). We only have a half hour of practice before each game each week starting in two days! I imagine I need to go through the rules for the bulk of the first practice. Everything I have read seems to be for hour-long practices. I would love your advice on how to structure the time.

Thank you! Pam

PostPosted: 29 Nov 2012, 18:49 

Pam -

Kudos for becoming a coach and taking on this challenge! My first thought is to always remember these kids are beginners, so keep FUN at the forefront as much as possible.

With regards to the 30 minute practice, that isn't much time. In the first few practices maybe:

-5-10 minutes going over the basic rules of traveling and double-dribble as those will probably be the most commonly called violations. I'm guessing the refs will let things slide a bit knowing these kids are just learning. We'd used the concept of having a piece of sticky gum under one foot for them to learn how to pivot. In fact, we picked the foot and always made it the right foot in the beginning. The word "gum" would be a keyword here.

-I'd take another 5-10 and cover basic defense concepts of hands out and staying in-between your man and the basket. At that age (with beginners) I used the metaphor of a castle and they had to protect the castle. So we used the keyword castle to remind them to stay between their man and the basket. We also used the concept of peanut butter on bread and how it won't come off, even if you shake it as a defensive concept. Stick to your man like peanut butter. So, we used "peanut butter" as another keyword.