All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 12 Jun 2018, 15:29 

This is my first year as a girls middle school basketball coach. I played in high school and coached an AAU team but that is night and day from this. I was hired to help the school create a basketball program that doesn’t focus only on the best five-six players. This team has had moderate success but from middle school to high school there absolutely zero fundamentals. It’s quite painful to watch. These middle school girls gradea 6-8 have tremendous hearts and are willing to sharpen their fundamentals. Currently I’m not even sure we will have 10 players. We have one girl who is talented (probably a 3 guard so she can be versatile), two that need some development (a point guard and post), and everyone else can barely dribble. I’ve looked over plays and defenses and I truly am at a loss with the
how I should coach given the gap in skill level. I have already told any of them I will work with them individually as much as they like.

How do I go about getting them to where they need to be?

PostPosted: 13 Jun 2018, 08:02 
Site Admin

It sounds like you already have this in mind but I would focus on skill / player development. Run a simple offense, simple defense, and spend as much time as possible on player development. That is what I recommend to most coaches but that's especially true with middle school coaches.

I would not practice time teaching them a bunch of plays they have to memorize. Not good for their development. Maybe 1-3 at most.