All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 15 Jan 2018, 23:28 

Hey, everybody!!

Starting this week, I'll be assisting my sister as she coaches her twin daughters on their school's 6th grade season. We coached the team together last year.

I've been coaching on and off since the 1980s -- in fact, I got my start in 1984 when I coached Sis on HER 3rd-4th grade rec team (I'm 16 years older than her) -- so it's fun to help coach her kids too. Sis became a very very good player, one of the best in her school's history (she held the career assist and FT percentage records when she graduated). I moved back to my hometown last year so finally I got a chance to help out.

She uses many or most of the same plays and principles she learned from ME years and years ago. One of the basic principles is to play a very high intensity, high pressure defense and fast breaking offense.

But ... we have a problem. Last season the school had two teams with a total of 19 players. This included four super-great travel team players who played for the OTHER team (they took turns skipping school team games to go play in travel tourneys.)

Our team had no travel-team players, although six of our 10 players played in a regional semi-travel league so we had some talent too. Sis's twins are two of the better players, the best PG and a lockdown defending 2/3.

The other team with the super travel players stormed through the league 10-0 and then advanced to the championship finals of the tournament. But the day of the title game three of the four travel players had to go play in a travel tourney, so they ended up losing by 1, ending the season 12-1.

Our team ended up going 8-5, after starting the season 1-3. It was an OK season so we were pretty happy.