All times are UTC - 6 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: 21 May 2015, 12:03 

I have been coaching my sons team for 2 years in baskeball and baseball. I have a hard time getting parents to understand fundamentals vs winning. I give every kids a chance to play all positions, after the game parents will come up to me to give a strategy to win the next game. I cheer for both team in baseball the parents will call me soft for not standing up for a bad call, I hate to take the effort away from the kid who just gave his all to make a good play. To keep it short where not winning the parents are mad as hell, the kids are happy full of energy. I have one parent who is a professional athlete and tells me what a incredible job I'm doing and he is the only reason the other kids stay on my team. Just show the parents we could win in baseball we played a undefeated team. I fixed the batting order from best hitter to worst hitter then I put 9 players on the field and 5 in the dugout never rotated a player. We won big time 14 to 5 the parents where full of joy and the kids that I played in the infield where happy, the kids in the outfield where digging in the dirt most of the time and chase butterflies. The kids in the dugout where hot complaining and ready to go home. We won but I thought it was the most boring game ever and the other teams coach went crazy half his kids where crying. How do I deal with the parents that only want to win, where talking about 6 to 8 yr old kids

PostPosted: 21 May 2015, 13:17 
Site Admin

It's a continual process of educating the parents that fundamentals are the key to success and it takes time.

It's not one thing. Just liking coaches kids, it's a process to educate parents. Coaching youth basketball is a marathon, not a sprint. Same goes with getting some parents on board. And some parents still will never get it. That's just how it is.